Task 4 – Kinetic Typography

DESCRIPTION

This task revolved around the Idea of using Kinetic Typography to create a sequence from a soundtrack featuring voice. I went ahead and found my own extract from the film ‘Lego Movie’. A cool quote from the movie character ‘Vitruvius’. Making this sequence was a challenge as I barely know much about After Effects, however with the use of tutorials I managed to pull through and make something which is my opinions is al right for a first try.

I found that many artists use Kinetic typography in their videos to make them that more interesting plus it’s good as it works as a karaoke video too :). Here’s an example:

As I’ve only used After Effects one or twice before I felt like I needed to fill myself with more knowledge and so I went ahead and found some tutorials which helped me greatly:

This tutorial taught me how to use Null layers to mass-animate text objects in after effects using 3D space cameras.

INTERPRETATION

After I taught myself all I needed to know about kinetic typography I went ahead and made my own Kinetic Typography Video, here’s the outcome:

OUTCOME

After learning how to make typography and having a go at it myself I learned that it can be really time consuming as there’;s a lot of fine tuning and tweaking. I also learned that Kinetic Typography can enhance the audio and further deepen the meaning of a track. Things like the position of the text, it’s size and how its animated can have a big impact on how people percieve the final text. Overall I feel like I’ve learned a lot and like the other tasks I am also looking forward to doing more of this.

Bibliography

Cee Lo Green – FUCK YOU – YouTube. 2014. Cee Lo Green – FUCK YOU – YouTube. [ONLINE] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CAV0XrbEwNc. [Accessed 10 November 2014].

Kinetic Typography Tutorial – YouTube. 2014. Kinetic Typography Tutorial – YouTube. [ONLINE] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOi5P1qxrM4. [Accessed 10 November 2014].

Leave a Reply

