Task 2 – Temporal Expressions

DESCRIPTION

As part of our second task we were asked to create a joiner image in the style of David Hockney as well as taking pictures that explore both long and short exposure and aperture times. Also the brief stated we should focus on the theme of ‘Cycle’. The theme was tricky to explore but I tried to do my bes anyway.

Joiner Image by David Hockney

The above image was taken from David Hockney’s website: http://www.hockneypictures.com/images/3-works/3-photos/collages/large/02.jpg. On his site he explains how such images are created and that alignment other than editing should be of utmost importance when putting the final piece together. He also explains how important it is to take more images in order to achieve more realism.

INTERPRETATION

Joiner Image

This is the first joiner image I’ve ever made. I had some trouble finding the right angles and the right positions but nevertheless I managed to pull through and this was the outcome. Even though it isn’t as detailed, one can still make out the different objects which in a way is what the whole thing is about. Like mosaics this joiner image was created by placing and shaping different images together. I struggled a bit with the whole cycle theme however I did manage to find something that could be related to ‘Cycle’ and that is the fact that this two boxes get recycled over and over again to become other types of boxes making an endless recycling loop and therefore a ‘Cycle’.

The next part of the brief was about taking ‘photo-images’ that exploited long exposure for example : Light painting, Motion Blur and Slit-Scans. With the help of a classmate I managed to get some Images with her canon 650D. Here’s our results:

IMG_1752 IMG_1755 IMG_1757 IMG_1761 IMG_1764 IMG_1770

As shown in the images above I played a lot with light painting using a long exposure setting as well as a long aperture. I believe the images came out quite well especially the last ones (As you scroll down) as I became more used to the long exposure setting and proceeded to experiment further. IMG_1799 IMG_1800IMG_1801

These images are part of a sequence that in my opinion show in detail how motion blur works. I told my classmate to put the camera on burst mode with a long aperture as well as a low ISO and this was the result.

Image

Here’s a slit scan picture of my microphone that I took with my iPhone app.

OUTCOME

Overall I feel like I’ve learned a lot from this task and I am looking forward to doing similar projects as you can get very creative with the images. In hindsight I wish I had a camera of my own that way I could have had a lot more time to take the rest of the images but overall I am quite pleased with the quality of the images and my work so far.

Bibliography

DAVID HOCKNEY : PHOTOS / COLLAGES. 2014. DAVID HOCKNEY : PHOTOS / COLLAGES. [ONLINE] Available at:http://www.hockneypictures.com/photos/photos_collages.php. [Accessed 09 November 2014].

Leave a Reply

